Reviews

Rated 4.4/5 based on reviews from all travellers.
"Excellent business hotel. Close to Thames River. Good for sightseeing with nearby parking areas."
4.4
Excellent
TrustYou

Good to know

Great reception
Friendly service
Professional service
Smooth booking process


Great Overall RankingTop 16% in city Excellent Business HotelTop 4% in city

Location
93/100
1167 reviews
"Great location" Central location with great sightseeing, dining out and shopping.So-so car access and parking.Parking should be cheaper.

Service
86/100
1649 reviews
"Fantastic service" Old, neglected rooms with uncomfortable beds, yet lovely views.Smooth booking process.Room service is perfect.Great concierge service.

WiFi
80/100
41 reviews
"Good internet service" Average wifi quality.

Breakfast
77/100
686 reviews
"Tasty breakfast"

Room
75/100
1617 reviews
"Great room" Poor furniture and complaints about bathroom cleanliness.Decently rooms of alright size, but not well maintained.Shower can be a problem.Complaints about minibars and kitchenettes.

Cleanliness
73/100
359 reviews
"Clean" Clean rooms.The bathrooms and dining area need some cleaning.

Comfort
55/100
620 reviews
"Comfortable"

verified-reviews
4/5The perfect location
Reviewed on 04th December 2019
Throughout the booking process the staff we excellent in all communication. Prompt, efficient and friendly. The hotel is very difficult to find and I do feel that better signage and information prior to arrival would help, however arrival itself (after the 20minute search) was well handled. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, the curtains gave perfect blackout and it was blissfully quiet. We found it quite difficult to get the room warm though. The fudge was gorgeous. Our Eton Signature Room was lovely and had some very beautiful features. There are things which I feel could be improved in a room of that price. There is a fridge but this is not immediately evident, however a small carton of real milk would be so much nicer than UHT pots. A hook for coats, when wet, outside of the Wardrobe would be a bonus. I realise it is an old building but there is a terrible draft from the French Windows to the balcony even though it was not very windy it made the room rather cold. The bathroom is a little disappointing as the bath is not double ended - just a personal preference I know. The Towels could be bigger too. Breakfast on the Sunday was chaos! There was a huge queue but no sense of urgency from the person in charge. Dinner was excellent and all the staff were very pleasant throughout.

5/5Guest Feedback
Reviewed on 03rd December 2019
Navjot had a lovely birthday thank you. We are regular customer for the afternoon tea and always enjoy it. The service was great as usual.

5/5Geoff the C.
Reviewed on 03rd December 2019
Nice to back again at the Sir Christopher Wren, the staff are always professional, polite and efficient, the food is first class and the restaurant has fabulous views over the Thames while you eat you food. For the first time we were in Windsor House which I completely modern and the rooms are spectacular. Windsor is a good place to stay as there lots to in Windsor and the surrounding areas. We will be back again soon. See Atmosphere above. Did not use it but it was easily available in the room Very good and easy to get to especially by public transport. Excellent menu with a variety of dishes for all courses, served hot and well presented. Spectacular with a really hot, easy to use shower. Cannot fault the service in all departments. Did not use any of the facilities as we did not have enough time. Olde Worlde with lots of atmosphere and tradition. Well stocked Bar with knowledgeable staff.

5/5Guest Feedback
Reviewed on 03rd December 2019
Thanks your note – everything went well and both us and our guests enjoyed the hotel and meeting room facilities. Thank you for all of your assistance in the lead up to the event as well as during the event! My only negative feedback was that we really struggled with the temperature in the meeting room, even when asking your colleagues to set it to the optimum settings it would be okay for a while and then get very hot or cold. Otherwise, it went very well and would return in the future.

5/5Guest Feedback
Reviewed on 03rd December 2019
The experience with you and your staff was great. I submitted a very high review rating and added complimentary comments. I am looking forward to the April training. I’m just returning from our U.S. holiday. As soon as I’ve sorted out our scheduling, I’ll approach ya with some dates in later 2020. Thanks for all the help.

5/5Guest Feedback
Reviewed on 03rd December 2019
Yes they said they had a fantastic evening with very positive feedback!  Thank you for all your hard work answering all my silly questions !! When you get a minute can you email me over the drinks bill / final bill. Thanks and hope to speak again soon with other events

4/5Overnight stay
Reviewed on 02nd December 2019
Clean and efficient. Comfortable bed and great shower. Would of liked to drink a draft bitter rather than bottled. Didn’t go to breakfast (not hungry)

5/5Mrs m s.
Reviewed on 02nd December 2019
Hotel staff very helpful & efficient. The bedroom was very nicely redecorated & to a very good standard as was the bathroom again a very good standard. Spent 2 nights in the hotel & ate in the restaurant both evenings. Evenings meals cooked extremely well & service good. Beautiful views of the Thames from the restaurant. Paid for the valet parking which again was very quick & efficient. Fantastic selection of food for breakfast but my only disappointment was the pre cooked buffet breakfast. It dried out under the lights & wasn’t very hot.

5/5Well looked after
Reviewed on 02nd December 2019
First time in Windsor and first time at a Sarvor hotel. It did not disappoint. Nice touches in the room meant it was a great introduction to what we were in for. The room it self was extremely nice and clean. The restaurant was the main attraction because the food was extremely nice! Would definitely come back again Very calm atmosphere Didn't really use it but I looked well stocked and busy

2/5Disappointing, all smoke and mirrors
Reviewed on 02nd December 2019
We stayed in a similarly priced & even more Central Windsor hotel last year, plus others in other cities, which exceeded our expectations... and which set a baseline for this review. Verbose “stuffy” communication and branding all naively supported our expectation, but the experience sadly fell short in person. On arrival we weren’t exactly sure which entrance was the main hotel entrance - it looked more like a restaurant entrance. We were squashed into a small reception area with 2 staff dealing with 2 check-ins in-front of us which took an inordinate amount of time. A third member of staff eventually popped out, asked if she could help & when told we wanted to check in, were told bluntly to continue queuing. When we were finally served there was no apology for the delay, no warm welcome, and generally not an appropriate level of service to justify the price. A gripe - it baffles me why I need to confirm my details when you have them all from the booking. I was told my card would be charged only a preauthorisation fee - it was actually charged this plus the full amount. Your car parking could be far more concise. Unhelpful trying to book over the phone & the one thing the staff couldn’t help enough with in person. We went into the dining area looking for afternoon tea, and again were not warmly welcomed - staff flying around & zero effort was made to fit us in. The corridors in the Windsor house were melting hot. Our room was bitterly cold & took a long time to warm up. Room furnishings were lovely, the bed wonderful, bathroom great - but was on the ground floor of the Windsor house with cars constantly pulling up & pulling away outside. A nightclub opposite caused some disturbance until the early hours of the morning. The occasional loud drunk walking past woke us up. The porter, room service & maitre d for breakfast were all excellent. The breakfast itself was luke warm & far from wonderful quality. Why certain tables were reserved for breakfast again baffles me - I leave thinking my money isn’t as good as someone else’s. Check out was as much a chaotic ordeal as check in. Again, no warm welcome, no thank you for your stay, no how was your stay. Very disappointing stay & dreadful value for money. I’ll suggest there are cultural or institutional barriers preventing the level of service we expected - there’s no quick fix. We will not be staying again, nor recommending.

5/5Guest Feedback
Reviewed on 02nd December 2019
It was an absolute pleasure meeting you too – thank you so much for all your assistance over the 2 days. The meeting went very well thank you despite the last minute lunch change on Thursday. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and I am sure we will be in touch in the New Year.

5/5Very comfortable except for room heating
Reviewed on 02nd December 2019
Very comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Only downside was the room heater mounted high on the wall above the bed which resulted in cool area where one sat to watch TV or have a hot drink. Not ideally situated for elderly guests

Read more reviews

LATEST OFFERS

Winter Getaway

Winter Getaway

From £120 Per Room
More...
Wedding Special Offer

Wedding Special Offer

For September & October 2020
More...
Save 30% on Winter Warmer Spa Day

Save 30% on Winter Warmer Spa Day

was £100 NOW £70
More...