Reviews

Rated 4.4/5 based on reviews from all travellers.
"Excellent business hotel. Close to Thames River. Good for sightseeing with nearby parking areas."
4.4
Excellent
TrustYou

Good to know

Great reception
Friendly service
Professional service
Smooth booking process


Great Overall RankingTop 16% in city Excellent Business HotelTop 1% in city

Location
93/100
1203 reviews
"Great location" Central location with great sightseeing, dining out and shopping.So-so car access and parking.Parking should be cheaper.

Service
86/100
1701 reviews
"Fantastic service" Decent waitstaff and management.Average bar service and housekeeping.Smooth booking process.Room service is perfect.

WiFi
86/100
39 reviews
"Good internet service" Average wifi quality.

Cleanliness
77/100
382 reviews
"Clean" Dining area could have been cleaner.Wellness & sports facilities could use better cleaning.

Breakfast
76/100
705 reviews
"Tasty breakfast"

Room
75/100
1648 reviews
"Great room" Decent bathrooms and beds in average sized rooms.Relatively new rooms, with acceptable TV's, but poor furniture and A/C.Badly maintained rooms with poor minibars and kitchenettes.Shower was ok.

Amenities
59/100
548 reviews
"Ordinary amenities" Excellent terrace and entrance area.Elevator in need of updating.Unspectacular architecture.Meeting & event facilities should be improved.

Value
57/100
252 reviews
"Fairly good value for money" Normally priced food.Affordable beverage prices.Fair breakfast prices.Free internet.

Comfort
56/100
624 reviews
"Comfortable" Deficient A/C and too noisy rooms.

Pool
16/100
22 reviews
"Pool should be renewed"

verified-reviews
5/5Outstanding customer service high quality hotel
Reviewed on 11th February 2020
We are back to this wonderful hotel again. Staff very helpful as always great spa location superb with easy reach of all attractions

5/5Short break
Reviewed on 10th February 2020
This is our second visit to the Christopher Wren and it will definitely not be our last. Beautiful hotel, ideal location, staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely be back!

5/5Lovely weekend break.
Reviewed on 10th February 2020
We had a lovely relaxing weekend break, staff were very friendly and helpful, room was lovely and very clean. We ate in the Brasserie and would recommend it.. Fortunately we were on the first floor so the issue with no lifts wasn't too much of a problem. Excellent hotel. Would be happy to go back.

5/5Great location and atmosphere!
Reviewed on 10th February 2020
We enjoyed the river view with swans gliding by and Eton on the other bank. The room was large and comfortable, and we enjoyed our G&T in front of the fireplace in the charming sitting room!

5/5Mrs
Reviewed on 10th February 2020
On arrival warm greeting in reception and also in the restaurant for light late lunch. Very nice, immaculately clean, comfortable room (300) and excellent value with Winter offer. Throughout my stay all staff were attentive, charming and helpful. This is consistently the case and why I'm a Sarova member and whenever I'm in the area choose to stay at The Christopher Wren or The Bull at GX. Some of the tables are rather low for comfort when eating, otherwise it would have been 5 for brilliant, attentive staff As above Delicious, fresh Clean, comfortable, quiet and excellent VFM for single guest with Winter offer The staff are all marvellous and clearly enjoy and take pride in giving excellent service

5/5Fabulous
Reviewed on 10th February 2020
Great hotel breakfast fabulous apart from queuing in the corridor for 10/15 minutes to get a table Room nice but last time loads better as free upgrade last time and amazing room that is why we returned with the rest of our family Went to bar in evening and really slow service Phone reception bad Excellent Breakfast excellent Tad slow Didn’t use

3/5Bland Hotel
Reviewed on 09th February 2020
We stayed at the Sir Chrstopher Wren as a special treat for our birthdays. Despite the room being expensive, it was bland and boring. There was only a shower and no bath. The room was cold, and even setting the air conditioning to 26C didn't really get it to warm up. The breakfast buffet choice was good, but the scrambled eggs on the first day looked grey and had a weird slab like consistency. The glasses put out for the orange juice were smeary on both days, and looked dirty. Altogether a big disappointment for us both.

5/5First Time to Windsor
Reviewed on 08th February 2020
Just come back from the Sir Christopher Wren from a couple of nights stay. The hotel must be in the best spot in Windsor, right by the river with the castle just behind. We used the hotel parking which was expensive but so worth it, with staff parking the car and delivering to the front door when needed. We were in the main building and had a great room looking over the river and bridge, large bed was very comfortable. There were lots of steps getting to the room which might be a problem for people with a walking disability, but then again there might well be rooms which could cater for this. Breakfast was lovely in the Bistro restaurant, and having an evening drink there watching the swans and the sun going down over the river was amazing. Got to mention the staff, everyone we met from reception to restaurant and bar staff to the gentleman who took our bags to the bedroom were so professional, helpful and friendly. This is important and really helped made our stay special. The bar staff were very good, lovely ambiance. Perfect in every way Only had breakfast here which was excellent. Really good, appreciated the chocolate and fudge left for us. Perhaps an update of wardrobe and chest of drawers needed. It was good that we had an iron. Excellent

4/5Very friendly atmosphere
Reviewed on 06th February 2020
Hotel was easy to find and we felt welcome even before getting inside. We were me outside and shown to the reception and then helped to our room. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout. On the day we left we were able to leave our bags at the hotel and enjoy our morning. Picking them up was simple as the staff were already on it. The process was swift and easy. Only down side if you can call it that is the up and down on stairs to the rooms but this is an aspect of the layout and character of the the historic building. Service excellent Generally great. Would definitely return. Excellent Perfect for seeing Windsor nice and central Only had breakfasts but we were impressed with the variety and originality of the selection available Good size and comfortable. Simply faultless

4/5Guest Comment Card
Reviewed on 04th February 2020
We enjoyed our stay. Lovely rooms, staff very helpful. Check in/out was easy. Breakfast very busy! Waited for tea and coffee but replenishment of the buffet was good. Spa - jacuzzi not warm enough.

5/5Beautiful place to stay
Reviewed on 04th February 2020
Beautiful room, immaculately clean everywhere. Friendly, efficient staff. Perfect location

Read more reviews

LATEST OFFERS

Easter Getaway

Easter Getaway

From £120 per room
More...
30% Off A Spa Day in Windsor

30% Off A Spa Day in Windsor

£44.24 per person
More...
Mother’s Day in Royal Windsor

Mother’s Day in Royal Windsor

From £34.95 per person
More...